Always Busy

August ends today and it’s been a fantastic month. I should qualify that: the weather. We’ve had a lot of rain (over 2 inches) and very mild temperatures (average max of 82; average low of 60). I’ve been in love with this month. One week of school is in the books. The kids seem to be generally happy. Not thrilled, but not crying about it. Jen is having Lagoon withdrawals. Jen used the emptier house this week to paint the playroom in the basement. Guess it’s time to finally start thinking about that room. It’s only been two years.

Leah (4th), Abby (6th), and Lauren (2nd) in very colorful outfits for the first day of school.

Leah (4th), Abby (6th), and Lauren (2nd) in very colorful outfits for the first day of school.

Yesterday was a pretty productive day. I largely finished the cold storage partition. We made a room that is about 10 feet long and 8 feet wide. Yesterday I hung sheetrock, a door, and insulated the wall. This picture was taken from inside the partition and does not show the insulated wall, but you get the picture. We’ll add some shelves here and store some long-term food storage. I also replaced our dishwasher (inspired by Rural Ways) and was amazed at how quickly it went. Within about 45 minutes the old one was in the garage and the new one was in and running through a cycle. I also replaced headlights on two of our vehicles who had orphan lights.

The door is hung, drywall hung, and things insulated. Progress

The door is hung, drywall hung, and things insulated. Progress

Sunday mornings are pretty relaxed around here and the kids love to use me as a punching / kicking / scratching / tickling bag. It amazes me how much they like to “wrestle.”

The kids love nothing more than when I'm on the floor with them so they can beat on me.

The kids love nothing more than when I’m on the floor with them so they can beat on me.

2 thoughts on “Always Busy

  1. Ha ha. I’m constantly getting beat up by my boys. Easy form of entertainment. I just lay down and let them attack me. They could do it for hours. I guess they love seeing their ol’ man in pain.

  2. I think it’s the law that when dad lays on the ground its time to pounce. Your girls look so good in their back to school outfits, they have great taste! And of course you’re working on your house, you always are!

Leave a Reply

