Introverted Hiking

The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator is a tool commonly used to evaluate people, their personalities, and preferences. One of the metrics it measures is extrovert vs. introvert. Most of us equate extrovert as the loud, center of attention, obnoxious person in a group (which could also be defined as the dominant Clark gene). Most of us equate introvert as the reclusive, socially awkward, bookworm person who hates groups. While parts of those perceptions are supported, the better way to understand it is “where you get your energy.” Extroverts love groups and interactions with people; in fact, they need it to recharge their batteries. Introverts, however, feel drained by large groups and need time to themselves (or small, intimate groups of close friends) to recharge.

I took the Myers-Briggs last summer and tested fairly extroverted. However, the more I think about it, I think that I act extroverted at times because I have to. From church callings, professional situations, and family dynamics, I have to use a lot of extroverted skills just to survive. But I certainly have a lot of introverted leanings. Extroversion does wear me out.

Clear air, pretty skies, warm breeze ... good day!

Clear air, pretty skies, warm breeze … good day!

I’m recognizing this more and seeking the solitude necessary to recharge my batteries on occasion. I find real satisfaction in being out on a hike, run, bike ride, drive, etc., by myself to think or just let my mind and social butterfly tendencies take some time off. The interesting dilemma I face is that because I have some good extroverted leanings as well, after a while, I wish I had friends or loved ones with me to enjoy what I’m doing. I guess I’m just one big dilemma.

Overlooking Farmington and Kaysville

Overlooking Farmington and Kaysville

Regardless, I took the opportunity to step away from people for an hour yesterday and went on a hike on the snowy mountains above the house. As much as I loved our last home and neighborhood, access to opportunities like this were not easily available. I really appreciate the ability to be out my door and five minutes (or less) later be at a trail access point where I can get away from humans.

Silky water coming down Shepard Creek

Silky water coming down Shepard Creek

3 thoughts on “Introverted Hiking

  1. I am a type A personality who is quite introverted. Although I am very capable of interacting with others and actually enjoy doing so, it is emotionally draining. At parties, I am happy to just sit down and watch. I do not feel the need to meet new people. It drives Michelle nuts. When I had more time, I used to do a lot of hiking and prefered to do it alone. It was nice to take my binoculars and bird book and just go hiking up in the mountains for a couple of hours. There is something to be said for being comfortable with your own thoughts. I think that is one of the reasons I like individual sports. I haven’t played a team sport since 7th grade. In HS, I ran track, cross country, and wrestled. All individual sports. Now, I prefer to do triathlons. Again, individual. So here’s to all introverts!

  2. I actually don’t know how I survived 11 children and all the noise that comes with it. I never listen to the radio while driving in the car. I love the silence. I love to be outside taking pictures and like to be alone most of the time when doing so. I guess I’m like you, Jess. I have to be extroverted at work and with callings, but I prefer quiet and a slower pace of life. I would love to do nothing but wander on a vacation. I would NEVER be happy with a tour group or in large groups. I would prefer to see what I want when I want and choose who I wanted to be with on a trip or vacation. I hate large groups. I understand both you and Jason.

  3. Your mom sounds a lot like Steve, except, of course, nicer about it. He hates to be around people, and tries to just make it him and the cows as much as he can. But when he is around people he likes to be the life of the party. Maybe this personality trait is one of those Teichert things. On another note, I’m jealous you can just off and hike whenever you like. All our trail heads are snowed in.

Leave a Reply

