Can we get a doctor over here?

We’ve had a recent rash of injuries around here. Abby, dear, bone-weak Abby, broke another bone. For the third time in her life, she’s got a buckle fracture. I’d never even heard of one of those until she came around. About a week ago we went to a local hill to sled. The girls quickly grew tired of the boring sledding because the hill was short and not incredibly steep. Leah, our fearless child, decided she wanted to try snowboarding on her sled. It was a hit. All the girls (and their dad) decided to try it. We had a great time, until Abby took an unfortunate fall, landed on her elbow, and immediately felt the pain. The force of landing on her elbow caused her humerus to compress, creating the “buckle fracture” I mentioned earlier.

Like any good parent, we waited two days to take her to the InstaCare to confirm the injury. They don’t cast the humerus, so she’s in a sling for the next three or four weeks. Lucky girl.

Abby is living in a sling for a few weeks, but still has time for the Wii.

Abby is living in a sling for a few weeks, but still has time for the Wii.

Abby experienced a buckle (compression) fracture at the top of her humerus

Abby experienced a buckle (compression) fracture at the top of her humerus

I’ve also experienced two injuries of sorts recently. About a week before going to Brazil, I started experiencing some excruciating pain on the top of my left wrist. It hurt enough that I couldn’t hold a pencil. I went in to the doctor and she was surprised at the inflammation caused by some pretty serious tendinitis. Before you attribute this to my desk job, remember that I am very active in my yard and house. I think I hurt it doing some yard work, but it wasn’t a sudden injury like Abby’s arm(s). I got a splint and wore it for three or four days straight and it hasn’t hurt since. It’s amazing what immobilization will do.

This fella has been to Brazil and back

This fella has been to Brazil and back

Last week (Tuesday) I played a game of church ball. When I woke up the next morning, I couldn’t breathe deeply. By Friday I couldn’t find a position to sit comfortably (necessary for this desk monkey, right?). In addition, I had a lingering cold and every time I coughed I just about cried. I went in to the InstaCare (they are quickly becoming our primary care physicians) and had them confirm a cracked rib. I’m managing it with a bunch of Ibuprofen and will be fine in a few weeks, I hope!

In a non-injury report, Abby just finished playing in her first volleyball league this fall. She loved it! She has the potential to be fairly tall, so this could be a good sport for her. If only her dad had any skill or even knowledge of technique, she’d be in a good spot. Sadly, we’ve got to rely on others for that.

Abby played on a volleyball team this fall and loved it

Abby played on a volleyball team this fall and loved it

5 thoughts on “Can we get a doctor over here?

  1. Walk in Medical is the best thing since Dr.’s actually made home visits. I can see you Clark’s just don’t let it slow you down.. Good for you. Glad Abby plays basketball. Fun game.

  2. I didn’t know about the tendonitis stuff going on. You kept pretty quiet about that one. So did you get a technical or whoever elbowed you get a technical foul for intentional roughness? Must have been a nasty game to break a rib. Tell one of your kids they need to become a doctor so they can take care of you all in future years.

    • The funny thing is I don’t recall an actual play where the rib problem happened. I just woke up the next morning not able to breathe deeply!

  3. Poor Abby! I haven’t heard of a buckle fracture either, but it seems like it’s probably painful. Good thing her volleyball is over. And it is funny to me you cracked a rib during church ball, that just seems so typical. 🙂

    • Yeah, the rib and church ball connection is a bit funny. However, in all the years of church ball, this is the first real injury I’ve had. Nearly two weeks later, I still can’t sleep on my left side because of the dang rib.

Leave a Reply

