The holidays have arrived

Since I was in Brazil during Austin’s birthday, the kid got to celebrate twice. On his actual birthday, he had a small get together with Ellett cousins in SLC. I got home the next day so we opened more presents. I brought him home a hand-carved wood jeep from a market in Belem. It’s now been about a week and he hasn’t broken it yet. Success.

The boy is anxious to get his hands on his authentic Brazilian gift!

The boy is anxious to get his hands on his authentic Brazilian gift!

Abby’s school class does what’s called “Colonial Day” each year. She had to dress up in period costume and also do … something … with … something. I’m ashamed I don’t know the parameters of the activity, but I do know that she and Jen actually sewed the entire outfit Abby’s doll is wearing. I was impressed, even if I don’t know why they did it.

Two colonial girls -- Abby and her doll.

Two colonial girls — Abby and her doll.

I hung Christmas lights on the house on November 1st, but only turned them on a few days ago. I don’t like to add to the “unified theory of creep” so I do my best to not mix my holidays. My girls were confused, though, since I heartily objected to putting up Christmas decorations in the house until Thanksgiving had made a proper appearance. Well, I lost out. The girls put the tree(s) up on Wednesday. I went to work for a good portion of the day. Here are some pics of the lights in and on the house.

This is the tree that will get the presents 'neath it on Christmas morning.

This is the tree that will get the presents ‘neath it on Christmas morning.

 

This is the tree in the other room.

This is the tree in the other room.

Lights on the house

Lights on the house

Thanksgiving was a bit of a bummer this year, anyway. Leah woke up on Sunday with a stomach bug. She was fine by Sunday evening. Lauren woke up on Tuesday with a stomach bug. She was fine by Tuesday night. Jen woke up Thursday with a stomach bug. She’s largely fine tonight, but a bit weak. I sure as heck hope that if I’m going to get this little bug that I get it soon because I’m flying to Eugene, Oregon, on Monday. I don’t really want to mix air travel with a stomach bug for obvious reasons. Because of the sickness, though, we had to cancel our dinner plans with my parents. We weren’t really prepared to do our own Thanksgiving meal here so I asked the kids what they wanted to eat for lunch/dinner and they all agreed on hot dogs and nachos. Abby did mention, while she was inhaling nachos, that “this is the best Thanksgiving meal ever.” Needless to say, my kids aren’t really big on formal meals. They don’t like turkey and half the traditional Thanksgiving foods. I, however, missed eating all that stuff today.

Finally, I ran in the fourth 5K of my life this morning. I had a goal to run in 3 timed races this year and I’ve now met that goal. In addition, I ran this one faster than anticipated. My final splits were as follows:

  • Mile 1: 8:38
  • Mile 2: 17:36
  • Mile 3.1 (end): 26:12.

I think my previous best time was like 28:30 or something. This time surprised me. I was just hoping to finish in less than 28 minutes. I averaged 8:27 per mile over the length of the race.

4 thoughts on “The holidays have arrived

  1. When the doctor is finished at your house, send him/her our way. We learned about buckle fractures this week, too when Taylor decided to take an unaided header out of the crib. Poor girl gets Christmas in a cast.

Leave a Reply

