Working through a layoff

This has been a weird week! I went to work on Tuesday to get my official notification that I was furloughed until further notice. At first glance, a temporary furlough sounded pretty swell. I had no problem with a few forced days off, even if it wasn’t paid. I had grand visions of using the middle of the day to go on runs, bike rides, go to lunch, take naps, watch movies on Netflix … and so on and so forth.

Now, three days into it, that’s essentially what I’ve done. 🙂

Mostly.

I started working on the basement bathroom again. I actually reengaged in that efforts a few weeks ago when I had to do the rough plumbing for the new shower valve. That was a fun experience. Let’s just say that it’s in and not leaking. I got to use the crimping tool on Pex for the first time, so that was a good opportunity to learn. I finished  hanging drywall and started the mud/taping today. I really don’t like to mud and tape, but it’s a small bathroom. Luckily, I already had all these materials in hand before the furlough started.

Picture of mud on drywall

First coat of mud is on the walls.

I also officially filed for unemployment yesterday. It takes at least three weeks for the first payment to come in, and we probably won’t have any need for it, but I filed just in case this shutdown lasts much longer than any of us want to think about. I even started browsing the classifieds for temporary jobs — partly for the money and partly to keep myself busy so I don’t sit around taking naps and watching Netflix all day. Wait …

Speaking of Netflix, I did watch two movies: 1) Hank: Five Years from the Brink (about the financial crisis of 2008 and Hank Paulson’s side of the story … great documentary); and 2) 30-for-30 Four Days in October (about the improbable and unprecedented Red Sox comeback in the 2004 ALCS).

I am absolutely bewildered by this current shutdown. I am generally in favor of smaller government and can appreciate fiscal conservatism (at the government and personal level!), but I really dislike that this ideology has currently put over 1 million ably-employed and working people temporarily out of work. I don’t really like being a pawn in this political showdown. Congress picked a crappy time to fight. I’d punch them in the teeth if I didn’t think it’d put me in jail.

2 thoughts on “Working through a layoff

  1. seriously, our government sucks. Im sorry you got layed off because of their dumb inability to make good decisions. Hopefully it all ends soon and you get get right back to work.

  2. Hey, man, I feel your pain. Literally. And, like you, I am not unsympathetic to the need for some cost cutting. But, this sure is a foolish way to do it. As far as I am concerned, both houses of Congress need to listen to what my therapist keeps telling me: It is time for you to grow up and stop acting like a child.

Leave a Reply

