Let the sun shine

Happy President’s Day! I love it…it’s a holiday, the sun is shining, and snow is melting. We’re supposed to get more snow on Wednesday and the temps are supposed to be 10 degrees below normal the rest of the week, but for now I’m loving today. Saturday was equally nice, so we got out and enjoyed it. We took an hour long hike/walk/exploration on and above the Bonneville Shoreline Trail. The kids loved playing around in the snow and on the hillslopes where the snow had already melted.

Taking a break from the exploration on the mountain.

Taking a break from the exploration on the mountain.

Before we got to the recreation, though, I finished demolition in the bathroom. It is down to studs in that room and I’ve also done some insulating around water pipes that froze this winter. Hopefully that fixed the problem for next year. The video below shows the progress I’ve made. So far, the demolition has filled up one truck-load of refuse, which I have already hauled away to the dump. Total cost of the project so far: $5 (dump fees). I already had extra pipe and fiberglass insulation from previous work.

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/59812920]

Since I can’t remember whether I ever showed this video, I’m including this one, too. I replaced the threshold for our front door a few months ago. It was fairly straightforward — only like three trips to Lowes/Home Depot. One of these days I’ll get it.

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/55074547]
Leave a Reply

