October is ending

Got a few things that have happened recently. First, Lauren lost her first tooth. Like all my girls, this is such a traumatic event in their lives and I don’t know how they ever survived such drama. Luckily, like all my girls, after it actually happens they are elated and happy to be moving on to this phase of their lives. The money from the tooth fairy never seems to hurt, either.

Lauren recently lost her first tooth!

We had our first snowstorm of the year last week. After it was all said and done, we had about 3 or 4 inches of snow that stuck to the ground at our house. It’s a bit early for my tastes, but not really unusual for Utah. It’s going to be 70 again by Halloween on Wednesday, which is good because I would still like to get Christmas lights up on the house before it turns too cold for real.

We had our first snowstorm of the year!

Hard to see with a lack of contrast, but we had 3-4 inches of accumulation.

In terms of the home improvements, Jen has been busy staining our cabinets and stair railing. We had some old (almost orang-ish) woodwork and decided to try something new (for us) called gel stain. We are doing a dark java color that looks great against our white trim and other features in the house. I’m surprised how easy the staining has been — I say that recognizing that Jen has done all the work on this project. However, using gel stain is easier than normal stain with much less prep work. We don’t have great pictures of that progress yet.

I took out about 100 square feet of old wood floor in our entry way. Everyone asks me, “Why didn’t you just refinish it?” When we re-did our kitchen before moving in, we moved a wall. That wall exposed flooring that wasn’t covered in hardwood so now the coverage was incomplete and I didn’t have extra to fill in the gaps. So I found some engineered hardwood on KSL — 120 sq. feet for $150, which is about, oh, $330 less than had I purchased the same stuff at Home Depot. The flooring I took out was glued down which made it a bit annoying.

Lots of swinging, prying, and sweat to get all this flooring up.

Once the cabinets in the kitchen are stained and this new flooring installed, we will be done with major renovations / changes until the spring. We are still lacking organization and pictures on the wall, but we’re not really in a hurry.

4 thoughts on “October is ending

  1. Sounds like you are all busy! I won’t tell Isaac that Lauren lost her tooth–he hasn’t lost any and Will only just lost his third one this past week. They are slow in that area. I’m excited to see all the house improvements.

    And, I should post on the other post but since I’m already posting here…what a fun Family Home Evening! I had a Stake President tell us that it really doesn’t matter what you do for Family Home Evening as long as you can tie it back to something spiritual and you are all together. So, great idea!

  2. Congratulations to Lauren on a missing tooth! You have been busy for sure. I hope the kids have fun today for Halloween. The costumes you came up with for the whole family were one of my all-time favorites.

  3. Jess T.,

    After living with seven year old for a year, I finally understand what the drama is you’re talking about! Wow! I don’t know how you do it with all the girls in your house; you’re my hero! I hope you’re doing well.

    All my best,

    Bryan Corbin

Leave a Reply

