Lunar Eclipse over Temple Square

We don’t make it to Temple Square every year to see the lights, but we try. This year we were smart: we went during the first week of December and got there around 6pm, long before all the serious crowds descended upon the attraction. One admission from me: perhaps due to the fact that I’ve seen the lights so many times, seeing Temple Square each December isn’t that big a deal any more. I hope that wasn’t blasphemous. Some pictures of our adventures are below.

Inside the famous Mormon Tabernacle

Inside the South Visitor's Center

Is it the Star of David? Well, no. It's a large spotlight.

Last Saturday I got up around 6:30am and headed a few miles west of my house to catch a glimpse of the lunar eclipse. I took my camera and tripod and snapped a few pictures of the event. It was kinda cool seeing a red moon. I call it “bloody cheese.”

Bloody Cheese #1

Bloody Cheese over Mountain

Bloody Cheese over Mountain #2

10 thoughts on “Lunar Eclipse over Temple Square

  1. bloody cheese? That just sounds so wrong and gross and weird, all wrapped up in one name. They are cool pictures though. We are going to temple square this weekend, our kids get so excited over Christmas lights that it should be worth it.

  2. I loved your shots. The star shot was good. I did not get to see the eclipse. I wished I had been sleeping at that hour, but not such luck.
    Dad Clark

  3. I loved your shots. The star shot was good. I did not get to see the eclipse. I wished I had been sleeping at that hour, but no such luck.
    Dad Clark

  4. Very cool, dude. Glad you have the energy and gumption to actually get up and go take pictures of the moon since the rest of us were sleeping soundly (and warmly) in our beds that early on a saturday morning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

