Parlay voo, Fraan-say?

I don’t know how a post relating to the birth of my first and only son garners 19 comments while a silly post entitled “Mmm. Wheat.” garners 16. While I don’t understand it, I applaud all of you.

Anyway, this post isn’t really silly or about wheat. Or food. Well, it is about food, but not for a long time. You’ll see why…

Our kids have been going to the local public school since we moved here. I never thought the school system(s) were that important. For heaven’s sake, I attended public schools in three different states and turned out just fine.  I even passed the AP Calculus test.  (On a side note: my schooling became much more relaxed and easy after my move from Indiana to Utah. I struggled to maintain my 9th of 109 students in my class in Indiana. In Utah, I got straight A’s fairly easily and stopped trying as hard.) Well, Jen and I have bright kids. Actually, Abby and Leah are proving to be pretty bright. The jury is still out on Lauren. One thing we do know: she’s the mayor of a place called Funky Town. She really is a funny, crazy, and funky little girl. Like, for real.  See here.  And watch the video on the post here.  Get to know her someday and you’ll be a better person for it.

Abby is one of the smartest kids in all of second grade. Leah is tearing up kindergarten. Both read very well and are great students. I’m convinced that our family habit of meeting every night to read from scriptures is a major reason they read so well. You should give it a try.

Leah "Beanie" Clark

About two months ago we got a post card from the school district inviting us to investigate a dual language immersion program for Leah since she will be starting 1st grade next year. As the one who got the mail that day, I claim total responsibility for the following decisions. I could have — and normally would have — tossed it in the garbage before it ever got to Jen’s eyes. You know, kinda like my mom and sisters would do with my Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue when I was a teenager (thanks, by the way).

So Jen looked into the program and was pretty stoked. After selling it to Leah and me, we were suddenly all on board. The school the kids currently attend doesn’t offer this program; rather, we’d have to transfer our kids to another one. Luckily, there’s a school about a mile further up the road than the one we currently attend offering the program. The only problem: the language they offer is French. The other two options in the state? Spanish and Chinese. Holy cow, would that be cool if my kid learned to say “Ni Hao” and know what it actually means. But we decided Chinese wasn’t worth driving over 20 minutes one way. French it is. In reality, I figure the language isn’t the point here. I think the process of learning she’ll experience is more important.  (Side note: my only experience with French is Bill Murray and Andie McDowell in Groundhog Day.  Oh, and Beauty and the Beast.  Isn’t the candlestick guy French?)

Which brings us back to food. If we never move and Leah decides she loves French, she’ll be on her way to twelve years of language immersion and culinary treats for all of us. And I see a trip to Paris in my future.

8 thoughts on “Parlay voo, Fraan-say?

  1. So would you be transferring both Abby and Leah over to that school so Leah can take the classes there? I think it’s great they start teaching language classes that early. Jake’s preschool class actually offers an after school enrichment spanish class, and Sarah takes Spanish every 6 days in school here. Geoff has it every day in middle school. That’s is one thing these Jersey school’s get right. They start language classes much earlier.
    We have some friends in Provo who’s 7 yr old daughter is learning Chinese. They love the program their daughter is in and even got her a tutor. I think it’s a brilliant idea — even if you have to transfer schools!

  2. @Chels: We will be transferring Abby as well. She’ll either be attending the new public school with Leah or she’ll be in a charter school we’ve been on the waiting list for 3 years now.

  3. I did not know about the kids in Jersey taking Spanish. That is cool.
    I think it is great to have Leah taking a language. I took Russian in 6th grade myself. It was great. I don’t know about French, but I have often wanted to understand a little of it. It is in all of our history. Even the English kings up until the Cromwellian revolution spoke French. For a while, they only spoke French, and not even English. King Richard the Lionhearted spoke French and only spent six months of his life in England. And he was the king. Remember, the Normans were Frenchman (of Viking decent), and the Fuller’s ,my father’s maternal side, decended from the Pletagenate (sp) kings, who were of French origin. So French it is and I cannot wait for some of that good food!

    Dad Clark

  4. that’s the second time you mentioned the SI swimsuit issue and how it got lost in the mail. I’m thinking there might be some issues there, you might want to discuss that with a professional.

  5. You can send her my way and we will immerse her in Hindi, Farsi, Russian, Spanish, and Chinese. A few of us up here in the lab speak English too.

  6. I think Lauren and Ellen may have been separated at birth. Yesterday morning, when I went to get Ellen out of bed, I heard, from under the covers: “Excuse me, Dr. Kibble, but there seems to be something rustling in the bushes over there. Do you suppose it is a fox?” Non-stop goofiness out of that kid.

  7. That is so cool! I wish my kids could learn French, or another language. Will all of your kids be able to participate?

Leave a Reply

