Blessings on you, little man

I stole the title of this blog post from Dewey Jones, who recently penned a post the same when Andrew blessed his baby in Michigan. Baby blessings in the Mormon church are a cool experience. We’re instructed in the scriptures to “bring them unto the elders before the church, who are to lay their hands upon them in the name of Jesus Christ, and bless them in his name” (Doctrine and Covenants 20:70). The great thing is that only a small part of the ordinance is scripted and then the voice of the blessing (me in this case) gets to speak as the Spirit directs. I love to give counsel to my kids and when they’re as young as Austin, they don’t talk back, so bonus points all around. We had a lot of our family at our church to participate in the ordinance and I appreciate those who drove over an hour to be at our church before the meeting started at 9am. We even got Austin to smile for a photo once we’d returned to our house after church. Big thanks to Jen’s Mom for making Austin’s outfit.

Smiles for Daddy

Austin in his outfit

We did the blessing today because both I and Jen have extended family in town for the holidays. Dave and Tana (and baby Ansleigh) flew out from the DC area for Christmas and Jen’s uncle Marty and his family came out from Grants Pass, Oregon. It was fun to be around extended family for the holiday. Everyone leaves Tuesday back to their respective homes and we’re back to normal.

These few days before and after Christmas end up being some very long days. All the preparation that’s required for a Christmas holiday for 3 young girls is difficult when you are driving back and forth between parents’ homes, shopping, spending time with extended family, and having a newborn who hasn’t established ideal sleeping patterns yet. Both Jen and I are pretty tired, but it’s all worth it.

We did Christmas morning at our home and thankfully, the girls didn’t even wake up until 7:30 or so. The highlight of their morning was a new doll house we got them. After they opened everything, I said, “Oops, girls, there’s one more present in the basement. Go take a look!” I had my camera on a tripod capturing the reaction and it’s here:


Leah and the McMansion

After the festivities at our house, we drove to Elk Ridge to spend the afternoon with my parents and my family. We had our traditional homemade pizza and it was excellent. For the first time in, oh I don’t know, EVER we had left over pizza. Enough people have moved away that there was plenty to go around. Weird. Driving home that night made me long to live somewhere else besides a valley floor along the Wasatch Front. Fog and a sort of inversion settled in Utah Valley but my parents still had blue sky and just perfect conditions. We drove through the gunk you see below. Luckily the fog lifted by the time we crossed the point of the mountain and we had clear skies in SLC.

5 thoughts on “Blessings on you, little man

  1. What a fun post. Wish we could have been there for the blessing. Mom said it was beautiful. It looks like your girls LOVED their present. I hope that things can become more calm for you guys now that Christmas is over so you can all get more rest.

  2. The blessing for Austin was very beautiful. You gave the kind of blessing that really touches me – you blessed him with spiritual things that will lead to good the rest of his life. I was deeply impressed with the Spirit throughout the prayer. Thank you for inviting us and thanks to both of you for hosting a lovely brunch afterwards. It was such a nice morning.
    The doll house is beautiful! Every little girl’s dream. I wish I had one like that when I was little. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the excitement of the girls. I loved the end where they said, “You are the best!” I agree.

  3. Darling pic of Jess and Austin! Love that! Glad you guys had a great Christmas! Mc got a kitchen and could have cared less about everything else. Lesson learned, save the best gift for last! 🙂

  4. What a sweet little colts fan-man your baby is! I really like his smile. Did he even get any Christmas presents? We had to throw in a Raiders football for Peyton so our other kids wouldn’t get suspicious about Santa forgetting the new guy. That dollhouse is a pretty good one, and I think it’s safe to say your girlies love it!

  5. Merry Christmas! Looks like Mom and Dad knew just what the girls wanted. Way to go! Austin looks super cute in his blessing outfit. So special!

Leave a Reply

