Long day in Idaho

Today was very difficult for me.  I didn’t think it was going to be, but it was.  On Monday morning I got an email from my Mom saying my cousin, Tessa Teichert, took her own life.  She was 26 years old and such a fun girl.  I knew her best when we were little but they moved, we moved, we all grew up, they are ranchers and I became a city boy at age 16.  So our paths diverged.

But we’ve always loved Tessa and her family.  The are salt of the earth people and we’ve always enjoyed our interaction and friendship (her brother’s wife wrote a nice tribute to Tessa on their blog).  Her viewing was last night (Friday) and her funeral today in Twin Falls, ID.  I drove up last night with part of my family and we attended the viewing.  It was odd seeing my cousin in a casket, but just surreal.  I wasn’t overwhelmed with emotion or anything but simply felt bad.  In fact, it was more a time to catch up with my large extended family.  I enjoyed my visit with them and the time with my own family who traveled with me.

The next day was a different story.  They held a second viewing Saturday morning before the services and there were lots of people there to support my cousin and her family.  Right before the funeral started, all the family met together for a family prayer.  That’s where it got tough for me.  The thing that gets me isn’t that I lost a cousin we all liked; rather, I have a real hard time watching others suffer.  And it was very difficult watching my aunt and uncle and 3 other cousins just break down and grieve the loss of their daughter and sister.  Oh, and a husband she left behind that was absolutely torn apart.  However, as this was all happening, I noticed a sign on the wall in the room where this was happening.  It simply said, “Take my yoke upon you, for I am meek and lowly in heart; and ye shall find rest unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:29-30).  It helped me to put things in perspective a bit.  The loss for the family is still great, but there is comfort to be gathered and burdens to be lifted.

I bawled like a baby.

The funeral was very nice.  Two of Tessa’s brothers spoke and did an excellent job, and my sister sang a musical number and sounded great.  It was a very touching funeral and I bawled like a baby.  I was glad to be in Twin Falls for my cousins, but funerals for young people are very tough.  Old people…well, they’re supposed to die.  26-year-old women aren’t supposed to end their own lives and leave their families behind wondering what happened, how they could have helped, and how to move on (there are two kids from that family currently on LDS missions, too).

Dang it, my eyes hurt.  I need some sleep.

4 thoughts on “Long day in Idaho

  1. I’m both sorry and glad I wasn’t there. I am sorry I wasn’t there to support everyone and glad I didn’t have to witness the sorrow. I am surprised at how much this has affected me. I cannot get her and her family off of my mind.

  2. Our eyes hurt too. So do our hearts. Thank you so much for coming and showing support. It really helps. I love the scripture that you saw, we find a lot of comfort from the scriptures. We went to the temple on Friday and had a very good experience that has helped us to heal a lot quicker than we ever thought. We’re at peace with this, but we will always miss her. We talked to Wes (one of the missionaries) today when he called mom and he was so upbeat and postitive, he really lightened the mood. We missed the call with Calli. Thanks for the nice post.
    -Seth and Nat

  3. I am so sorry Jess! I knew you had attended a funeral; but I didn’t realize the circumstances. That family prayer also gets me EVERY time! =(

Leave a Reply

