Gardening

I don’t know if this means we’re growing up or what, but we planted our first garden ever a few weeks ago. We have a part of our backyard lawn that gets full sun, has poor sprinkler coverage, and was invaded by plenty of weeds. So Jen sprayed the area with Round-Up, I borrowed the neighbor’s tiller, and we had fresh dirt. I also added a few bags of steer manure to the mix (yummy!).

We spent a Family Home Evening buying seeds and already-started plants and then planted them all. The garden is pretty small, but big enough to get some delicious fruits and vegetables.

We planted four 5′ rows of corn, a few mounds of cucumbers, a row of carrots, green bell peppers, watermelon, peas (for Jen, not me), and got strawberry starts from a neighbor. You’ll notice the absence of tomatoes. No thanks.

5 thoughts on “Gardening

  1. We still have to finish tilling up the garden in our yard. Some of our strawberries from last year returned with a vengance this year though! We’re still only 1/2 way there.

  2. You're such a boob about tomatoes! They are the best summer vegetable/fruit you can get – fresh out of the garden.Jen, you are invited to come have a "pea" party at our house in about a month. We'll have tons!! Your side yard is great and I was very impressed with your pavers and walkway. I'd love to have the same thing in our front yard where we have buried rocks that didn't work as a walkway.Mom

  3. I am with you on the tomatoes…YUCK! But I would have to plant them for Brian and Bai. One of these years we will have to “grow up” too. Good job Clarks!

  4. I'm with Jess. Tomatoes are disgusting. Good luck with the garden. I hated gardening when I was young. Our garden was so big that Dad would use the tractor to plow up the corn patch (more like corn field) at the end of the year. However, I love to garden now that I am an old fart and have children to help with the weeding.

Leave a Reply

