At the gym

Two significant happenings today:

  • I went to the gym. Yes, that was significant. I did an elliptical trainer, stationary bike, and ran some laps in the gym.
  • On my way out of the gym, I was wearing my warm-up pants and a BYU hoodie. Out in the parking lot, I passed a 13- or 14-year-old kid. He looked at my hoodie and then at me and said, “How ’bout them Utes?” I couldn’t believe the audacity of this punk kid to look at me, a hunk of muscle, and talk smack. He’d never seen me, and I’d never seen him. What ever happened to teenagers showing at least a bit of respect to their elders?
5 thoughts on “At the gym

  1. I don’t know how that kid had the guts to make a comment like that. You are just terrifying looking, it’s true. When I met you my first thoughts were “Wow, he’s terrifying looking. I wouldn’t want to meet him in a dark alley. Scary.”

  2. I would have thumped him right between the eyes, then told him that the only reason his parents want him rooting for Utah is because they know he won’t be able to get into BYU.

  3. Amen to Ezra’s comments. Hey, you just worked out and you’re tough. Why didn’t you smack him on the butt and tell him to run home to daddy?Kids these days – they’re all a bunch of smart mouths.

  4. Yeah, I can only surmise that the Light of Christ shines so bright in me that the kid knew I’d not threaten him any physical harm. I must glow or something…

Leave a Reply

