I’m a mechanic

I drive a 1993 Nissan Sentra (oh, what a beauty, eh?). I bought it about a week after we moved in to our house (in 2005). I paid cash for it and have driven it back and forth to work and graduate school for nearly 4 years now. It’s been a decent car: every year and a half I have to put a few hundred dollars in to replace things, but that’s about it. It gets ~35 miles per gallon, even after 15 years. Jen doesn’t drive it because it has a manual transmission. The biggest problem is that when I get in the thing, I feel like Chris Farley: “Fat man, little [car]!”

Yesterday night after I left work, I was driving on 2700 West heading south. I was at the 4100 S. intersection stopped at a red light when my car lost all power. It felt like it was out of gas but I knew what it was: my alternator gave out. I had to hop out of my car and push it across the intersection to get out of traffic. It was awfully cold, but at least the road was dry.

I had Jen’s brother jump my battery so I could at least drive the car to a better overnight parking spot. This morning, I took Jen’s van to work and was thinking about how to get my car to our house so I could work on it. Jen called me and said her Dad called AAA and they were going to tow the car to my garage. I left work early and got home just as the tow truck driver was dropping my car off.

After spending all afternoon with a good friend from college who was in town for the holidays, I went to AutoZone and bought a rebuilt alternator (still $100!!!). After dinner, I spent about two hours in the garage working on the thing. I’m happy to say the car is back in operation and I hopefully won’t be pushing my car through any intersections any time soon.

6 thoughts on “I’m a mechanic

  1. Our stolen car was a little Sentra, and I loved it. We only had it 10 months and it was an ’06, so we didn’t have any problems with it, but it’s reassuring to know that there is someone out there who is an expert at fixing Nissans:)

  2. When you get your own car repair radio show, they’ll call you “clank.” I’ve got this ’98 outback that smells funny when I turn it off. Why is that?

  3. I’m so impressed you know how to do all this stuff. Can’t wait to have you do work on our cars whenever we move back. So don’t you guys go anywhere — got it?!

Leave a Reply

