Jackson, Wyoming

I’m in Jackson, WY, this week for a work conference. This is the 20 year anniversary of the Yellowstone Fires so the International Assoc. of Wildland Fire is hosting a conference talking about the lessons learned and current fire support, from the mapping side of things, to the fire behavior science, to clothing firefighters wear. Since I was 10 when the fires burned, I don’t have much memory of the event. But it’s fascinating hearing talks from the now 79-year old main fire behavior analyst who predicted the fire growth every day (these fires burned more than a million acres in 1988 around and in Yellowstone NP).

Anyway, Jackson this time of year is gorgeous. I drove up through Idaho Falls and then went East through Victor and Wilson. The trees are turning colors and it’s definitely fall up here. It’s good to get out of the office and in the field, even if the field is a conference.

I also saw the Tetons for the first time today without the clouds interfering. They are really something else. I could live up here, but I am sure Jen wouldn’t like the longer winter and more snow they have here.

6 thoughts on “Jackson, Wyoming

  1. Jen would agree, although she’s never even been to Nebraska. I keep on telling here Lincoln would be nice, but I’ve used the following line too often to get her really excited:”In Lincoln, there’s nothing between you and the North Pole except for a barbed wire fence!”

  2. I can’t believe you haven’t made plans to come over and visit us! We’re only 3 1/2 hrs away. Our mountains aren’t quite as big with winters twice as long as Jackson. But I guess you could call it beautiful.

  3. I'm so glad you included the antlers in the photo! I remember how excited I would be to see those when we entered Jackson. One year Mom & Dad took up up there to shop for Christmas. We had always gone to Montpelier, ID, but on this particular year they chose Jackson. It was such an exciting experience for me and I distinctly have that memory of the antlers announcing to us that we were going to have a new, fun experience.I have always loved Jackson and the entire area up there. I'd love to live there. Mom

  4. That’s funny…Matt always says how nice Lincoln would be to live. You two are pretty funny and I don’t think either of you and going to get your wish of moving to Nebraska. đŸ™‚

  5. I like the antler arches too! It reminds me of a couple fun trips in college with roomates and Emily Green. We took one of those old time photos too. It’s hilarious looking. I wonder where that picture ended up?….

Leave a Reply

