Hollywood

So, my trip to California was awesome! We had so much fun!

Monday: We went to the Tonight Show with Jay Leno. Before the show started Jay Leno came out and talked to the audience for awhile. My mom and I were even able to go up on the stage and get our picture taken with him. My mom LOVES Jay Leno, so this was especially exciting for her! They don’t let you bring cameras so this picture is a scan of the polaroid they gave us. Robert Downey Jr. and Rascal Flatts were the guests and it was a lot of fun!


After the show we were driving to our hotel when I looked out my window and saw Rascal Flatts in the car next to us! Wow! Their window was down so we talked to them at a stop light and I was even able to take a picture! That was really cool!


We also went for a walk down Hollywood Blvd and saw all the stars on the Walk of Fame. I found Tim McGraw’s star and had to have a picture with it!


Tuesday: We went to Dancing with the Starts. It was the results show and also their 100th episode. A lot of their former “stars” were there and it was fun to watch. The dancing is SO much cooler in person. Afterwards we were walking back to the car and we saw Derek Hough (one of the “professional dancers” on the show – he’s also from Utah) and got a picture with him.


Wenesday: We tried to get into the Ellen Degeneres Show, but we only had standby tickets and there weren’t enough seats for us, so we were in her “Riff Raff room.” It was still fun. We also went to Beverly Hills because I wanted to go to a cupcake shop. The cupcakes were huge and VERY sweet. That night was the highlight and main purpose of the trip. We saw Wicked at the Pantages Theater in Hollywood. It was amazing. I loved it and would go see it again right now if I could!


Thursday: We had a lazy morning of packing and then did a little shopping before going to the airport. The flight home was the worst flight I’ve been on. There was a little turbulence here and there, but that is to be expected. It felt like we were on a boat…rocking up and down the whole hour and a half! Ugh!

It was such a nice break from everyday life. I love my kids, but I definitely needed a break from diapers and time outs and whining! I am glad Jess and the girls had such a great time while I was gone. And I am VERY grateful that he had perfected the ponytail…he even did Leah’s hair for church on Sunday!

6 thoughts on “Hollywood

  1. I am glad you posted pictures of your trip. I’ve been checking each day to see if you had posted some yet. It looks like you had such a fun time. I would LOVE to go on a trip like that…without kids!

  2. Jess, what do you think about these guys with their arms around your wife?!Jen, it looks like you had a great time. Maybe someday I’ll do a girls trip – just with my grown-up daughters and daughters-in-law. Now that would be fun.Mom

  3. I was a lot more concerned the night she came home from a Tim McGraw concert. She was bouncing off the walls because their seats were super close and she’d even touched his hand as he walked by during a song. Groupie, I tell you.These dudes (Jay Leno and Derek Hough)? Not a problem. I can take them in a heartbeat.

  4. Jen, I saw you on TV!!!! I saw you and your mom in the audience of Dancing with the stars. I’m not kidding. It was awesome. I’m so jelous of you. I could use a day off without kids, let alone a few days. You are one lucky cookie!LindseyP.S. your mom is looking great. I love her! Tell her I said hello.

  5. It looks like so much fun! I’ll have to see more pictures when I come visit next week. It sounds like you got to do most of the things you wanted to do. And yes, I think Jess did quite well by himself. He seemed to manage fine huh!

  6. Jen, Looks like a fabulous trip! I’m so glad you got a break from the daily grind. You and your Mom look gorgeous! I’m so jealous.

Leave a Reply

